Why am I writing this blog?

Why start a blog reviewing a few of the thousands upon thousands of good, questionable, and down right terrible Android games available? This is a question which probably doesn’t have a definitive answer but I’l do my best. One of the main reasons is the lack of unbiased independent reviews out there. If you google Android reviews there is plenty of content available to read which can help you make a decision about what game to buy or what free-to-play apps give you the best value for money. I do feel though that these resources become clouded when money and influence from developers becomes involved in the review process.

My main motivation for doing this is because I like games. I’ve always liked them. Ever since I got a lime green GameBoy Color and Pokemon Blue for Christmas when I was 7 I’ve followed the growth of the industry and the explosion of consoles, PC gaming, online MMO’s and now VR. What I have found is that many of the the review websites are difficult to get any valuable information from as so many of them, at least to me, feel biased towards whichever developer payed the most to the blogger or review site to get the most exposure for their shitty product. I saw a post recently rounding up the top 20 apps of 2016. Five of them were Star Wars spin off games. Don’t get me wrong, I love Star Wars just as much as the next nerd, but come on….five games in the BEST GAMES OF 2016??! The list didn’t contain some great titles like Crashlands, Pokemon GO, lesser known favourites like Paper Wings and some of the new ports of older RPG games from the PC like Baldur’s Gate and Icewind Dale.

So, to summarise, I like gaming but I don’t like review sites that are only trying to sell you something. I appreciate that these people need to make their coin, but please don’t sell your integrity in the process. I hope that from this blog you can take away an honest review of a game that will help you decide whether or not to spend your time, or money, playing it.

AJ

Leave a Reply

