Sky Force Reloaded

Sky force reloaded, by Infinite Dreams, is a top down shooter with a peculiar helicopter obsession. Its a follow on from the highly acclaimed Sky Force, released in 2014. I am reviewing this game on the Google Pixel, and from my point of view, the game runs very smoothly. I have read some reports of poor performance on other devices, which is presumably to do with the processing requirements of the game.

Sky Force Reloaded

Il put this out there now: this game is HARD. If you don’t like hard games, or are looking for something relaxing then this probably isn’t for you. It took me a few attempts to get through the first level, which throws you straight into the action with no hand holding and a questionable weapon. There isn’t much to the controls as your character is set to auto-attack so all you have to do is navigate it around obstacles and lasers using your finger. What I found annoying to begin with was the default control setting which meant I had to have my finger on my character all the time. For the fat amongst us this was an issue as I couldn’t see my ship and found myself getting shot without realising. Luckily, there is an option to change this so that your finger only need be on the screen and not obscuring your character. What is also quite frustrating is that when you remove your finger from the screen, the game goes into ultra slow-mo. Im not sure what the point of this feature is, maybe to plan your movement in the face of myriad bullets, but it becomes a bit silly when you need to pick up a human and want to hover over them.

Enough of the negatives, I thought I’d  get those out of the way first because in truth this game is pretty good. The graphics are really nice and the devs have done  well with the sound effects and music too. The levels are atmospheric and immersive and are a decent length.

What really makes this game stand out is the amount of gaming you get for free. Due to the difficulty and the vast amount of upgrades to weapons, health and shields you could play this game for hours and still only really scratch the surface. I have read some reports of a “nightmare mode” from reviews by other users who say that this setting is hard as nails.

The boss fights, so far, have been fun. The first level saw me fighting a huge chopper which shot out three different types of laser. So far I’ve not been able to get past stage 2 as I need to unlock further medals which involves completing objectives like saving all the humans, taking no damage, collecting all the stars or killing all of the enemies, rather than simply playing through the level. This adds much more to the difficulty of this game. There are also unlockable ships and upgrades to different parts of your character which increases health or weapon power and unlocks new attacks.

Boss Fight

Overall this game is fun and frustrating in equal measure. That’s not to say that it is a bad game, far from it! The developers deserve a lot of credit for the high quality graphics, smooth play and longevity. This really is a very polished product that I will keep on my device and play for the next few weeks. Because of the all round strengths of this game, it warrants at least an 8/10. It has a 4.7 rating on the Play Store and with over 1 million downloads, the quality of the game speaks for itself. I say this is a great example of a top down shooter so if that is your thing don’t miss out.

AJ

Leave a Reply

