Getting the horn for Oceanhorn

I picked up Oceanhorn, by FDG Entertainment, after seeing it on a YouTube video and thinking how much it looked like the Zelda games I grew up playing. A free trial version is available from the Google Play store to test it on your device. There is an in app purchase for the full version of the game.

The game opens in a very Zelda like fashion. You wake up to find your father gone and your first objective is to locate your mothers magical necklace that somehow binds you to the antagonist in the story – Oceanhorn. There is an old fellow in the starting zone that sets out the story line. I won’t spoil it for you but its very similar to A Link To The Past, and sees you seeking emblems from different zones. I must add that the Zora rip-off is shameless!

Oceanhorn

The game play is also very similar to the things you’d find in a Zelda game. Items in the world, like pots and shrubs can be picked up and thrown, or slashed to pieces. There are keys and chests and you gather coins and XP to spend on equipment.  The world is very interactive, with readable signs, interactable NPC’s and puzzles similar to those you would find in other games of a similar genre.

The graphics, music and sound effects are pitch perfect. The cartoony graphical style works wonderfully with the game and I didn’t once get bored of looking at the environment. The controls are similarly well thought out and the game is responsive to your commands. Combat is very satisfying, made all the more so by the punchy sound effects associated with striking an enemy. Shameless rip-off number 2: the ‘secret’ spin attack by holding down your attack key stinks of Link at his finest.

Starting Zone

The game has a lot to offer. I have spent a bit time playing it so far but from reading around it looks like the game can be completed in 10 hours if you’re fast. To me this represents good value for money.

I would definitely recommend downloading the free  trial version of this game and giving it a go. If, like me, you grew up with the Zelda series and cherished it as much as I do, you will fall in love Oceanhorn. I was beaming with nostalgia as I worked my way through the starting zone and I feel like I will continue to do so as I play it more. Now go, play, and be happy!

AJ

Leave a Reply

